april-20-lr

Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the April 2020 LibraryReads Top Ten List!

Click to Prepare for Your April Readers’ Advisory.

The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires: A Novel (Top Pick) by Grady Hendrix
“Hendrix’s latest novel, possibly his darkest yet, addresses racism, sexism, and the mistaken belief that housewives are dull. Patricia and friends, all genteel Southerners, start a true crime book club. They have to apply what they’ve learned when a vampire moves into town. Patricia grows from a mildly dissatisfied homemaker to a vampirefighting dynamo who thinks three steps ahead and takes ownership of her life. With perfect pacing, there’s never a moment where readers can let their guard down. An excellent choice for horror fans of Joe Hill, David Wong, and Christopher Moore.” —Rosemary Kiladitis, Queens Public Library, Corona, NY

NoveList read-alike: The Stranger Beside Me by Ann Rule

The Book of Longings: A Novel by Sue Monk Kidd
“Ana is Jesus’s wife and a force in her own right. Monk does not sensationalize her writing about a fictional marriage for Jesus, but rather goes into great historical detail and imagines what it would be like to be a woman in that time. If you have been waiting for a book like The Red Tent for the past 20 years, this is it. Give to fans of Anita Diamant and Marilynne Robinson.“ —Claudia Silk, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT

NoveList read-alike: The Liars’ Gospel by Naomi Alderman

The Book of Lost Friends: A Novel by Lisa Wingate
“Another fantastic, hard-toput-down book by Wingate. The story moves back and forth from the post Civil War era where freed slaves are searching for lost family to the modern day South where a struggling new teacher is trying to engage her students. A must read for those who enjoyed Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi or On Agate Hill by Lee Smith.” —Cindy Ritter, Hamilton North Public Library, Cicero IN

NoveList read-alike: Cane River by Lalita Tademy

He Started It: A Novel by Samantha Downing
“A funny, twisted, scary story about Beth, Eddie, and Portia, siblings who are required to recreate a fateful road trip in order to claim their inheritance. For readers who enjoyed The Kill Club and Eight Perfect Murders.”—Cari Dubiel, Twinsburg Public Library, Twinsburg, OH

NoveList read-alike: The Better Liar by Tanen Jones

You Deserve Each Other by Sarah Hodge
“Naomi realizes she is only 18% in love with Nicholas, but doesn’t want to be the one to break it off, so she devises a plan to force him to break up with her. For readers who liked The Wedding Party and Well Met.”—Douglas Beatty, Baltimore County Public Library, Baltimore, MD

NoveList read-alike: To Have and To Hoax by Martha Waters

LibraryReads make great listens! 
Recommend April’s LibraryReads via your Digital Audiobook Collection.

For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the May LibraryReads list ends 4/1!

Check out which May titles we’re loving.

wwyr-for-may-2020

Announcing the April 2020 LibraryReads List!

Category: Holds AlertWhat We're Reading
0
174 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *