december-lr-19

Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the December 2019 LibraryReads Top Ten List!

Click to Prepare for Your December Readers’ Advisory.

Such a Fun Age (TOP PICK)
by Kiley Reid
”Full of nuanced characters and a very current plot about race and privilege, Such a Fun Age will keep you slightly off-balance and questioning how you would react. Emira is a character that you’ll love for her feistiness and strength of character. Perfect for fans of Americanah, Red at the Bone, and An American Marriage.” —Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT

NoveList read: That Kind of Mother by Rumaan Alam

The Dead Girls Club
by Damien Angelica Walters
“An engaging story, full of twists and turns. Chapters alternate from Heather’s childhood experiences to her present to form the whole story. More creepy than scary, pick this up if you want a story full of dread, suspense, childhood memories, death, and plenty of surprises. For fans of The Turn of the Key and The Silent Patient.”—Rebecca Kelley, Richland Library, Columbia, SC

NoveList read-alike: The Last Time I Lied by Riley Sager

A Madness of Sunshine 
by Nalini Singh
“With a well-drawn cast of characters and a vivid New Zealand setting, this book slowly draws you in, picks up speed, and takes you on a dark, twisty ride. For fans of Then She Was Gone and All the Missing Girls.” —Sheryle Gouker, Redstone MWR Library, Huntsville, AL

NoveList read-alike: The Dry by Jane Harper

Meg and Jo 
by Virginia Kantra
Little Women’s March family is brought into the present day. Here Marmee is a North Carolina goat farmer, Mr. March an idealistic and often absent Army chaplain, and Jo a NYC food blogger and frustrated writer. For readers who loved A Thousand Acres by Jane Smiley.” —Beth Mills, New Rochelle Public Library, New Rochelle, NY

NoveList read-alike: The Spring Girls by Anna Todd

Reputation: A Novel
by Sara Shepard
“Set in an elite private school, with a large cast of characters, this book has it all: scandals, affairs, and murder. I love the way the multiple perspectives intersect and intertwine. For fans of Gossip Girl and Big Little Lies.” —Aryssa Damron, DC Public Library, Washington, DC

NoveList read-alike: Just Between Us by Rebecca Drake

Would Like to Meet 
by Rachel Winters
“Evie recreates famous movie meet-cutes as a way to inspire a jerk client to write a screenplay, and learns a lot about herself in the process. For fans of Meg Cabot and Jennifer Crusie. ” —Kassie Ettefagh, High Point Public Library, High Point, NC

NoveList read-alike: Waiting for Tom Hanks by Kerry Winfrey

For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the January LibraryReads list ends 12/1!

Check out which January titles we’re loving.

4083_wwyr_for-january-900-1

Announcing the December 2019 LibraryReads List!

Category: Holds AlertWhat We're Reading
0
205 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *