june-lr-19

Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the June 2019 LibraryReads Top Ten List!

Click to Prepare for Your June Readers’ Advisory.

Evvie Drake Starts Over: A Novel (Top Pick) by Linda Holmes
“Relationships are hard, whether with a spouse, a best friend, a new love interest, or ourselves. Evvie navigates all of these after a life-changing series of events. An engaging novel that explores relationship nuances without being too dark or too cutesy. For fans of Jenny Colgan, Cecilia Ahern, and Sophie Kinsella.” —Maribeth Fisher, Scotch Plains Public Library, Scotch Plains, NJ 

NoveList Read-alike: The Garden of Small Beginnings by Abbi Waxman

Ayesha at Last by Uzma Jalaluddin
“Ayesha puts aside dreams of poetry and works in Toronto as a teacher to repay debts to her family. A deep-rooted family trauma ties Khalid to his controlling mother and gives him a rigid understanding of the world. Can these two young Muslims forge a healing path? A sweet modern romance perfect for readers of The Wedding Date and The Kiss Quotient.” —Ariel Yang, Forest Grove City Library, Forest Grove, OR 

Novelist Read-alike: The Matchmaker’s List by Sonya Lalli

City of Girls: A Novel by Elizabeth Gilbert
“Free-spirited Vivian recounts her life, focusing on her formative years in the 1940s. Nineteen and new to NYC, she became the costumer for her aunt’s struggling theater company. Colorful characters, misadventures, triumphs, and trials populate this fun, frolicking read. For fans of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo.” —Sonia Reppe, Stickney-Forest View Public Library, Stickney, IL

NoveList Read-alike: The Seamstress of Hollywood Boulevard by Erin McGraw

Natalie Tan’s Book of Luck and Fortune by Roselle Lim
“Natalie inherits her grandmother’s restaurant in quickly-gentrifying Chinatown in San Francisco. A tea leaf reading tells Natalie she must cook three recipes from her Grandmother’s cookbook for her neighbors who are being pushed out in order for the restaurant to succeed. For fans of The Recipe Club: A Tale of Food and Friendship and Like Water for Chocolate.” —Meghan Marong, Lackawanna Public Library, Scranton, NY

NoveList Read-alike: Number One Chinese Restaurant by Lillian Li

Recursion: A Novel by Blake Crouch
“Compelling and accessible to the non-science-fiction reader. It is a suspenseful, thought-provoking book about altered memories, and how technology can be used for good, or for ill, or should never be used at all. For fans of Michael Crichton.” —Will Harbauer, Toledo Library, Toledo, OH 

NoveList Read-alike: Hard-boiled Wonderland and the End of the World by Haruki Murakami

For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the July LibraryReads list ends 6/1!

Check out which July titles we’re loving.

wwyr-for-july_900

Announcing the June 2019 LibraryReads List!

Category: Holds AlertWhat We're Reading
0
428 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *