may-19-lr

Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the May 2019 LibraryReads Top Ten List!

Click to Prepare for Your May Readers’ Advisory.

The Bride Test (Top Pick) by Helen Hoang
“On the autism spectrum, Khai doesn’t feel anything for anyone. His mother recruits Esme, a young Vietnamese woman, to marry him. A realistic, humorous romance that reveals the slow path to love and a meaningful relationship. For those who loved The Kiss Quotient, The Rosie Project, and The Wedding Date.” —Jessica C. Williams, Tiffin-Seneca Public Library, Tiffin, OH 

NoveList Read-alike: A Bollywood Affair by Sonali Dev

The Farm: A Novel by Joanne Ramos
“What sounds like an easy way to make money while indulging in a spa-like oasis propels young pregnancy surrogates into ethically complex decisions, racial inequities, and new friendships. For those who loved The Handmaid’s Tale and Future Home of the Living God.” —Jesica Sweedler DeHart, Neill Public Library, Pullman, WA

NoveList Read-alike: A River of Stars by Vanessa Hua

How Not to Die Alone by Richard Roper
“Andrew’s Council job is finding people to pay for funerals for the recently deceased, and he seems bound to a similar lonely destiny. When lively Peggy joins the staff, he begins to wonder if there’s more to life than model trains. Give to fans of Jojo Moyes, Nick Hornby, and Gail Honeyman.” —Jennifer Knight, North Olympic Public Library System, Port Angeles, Washington 

NoveList Read-alike: Terms & Conditions by Robert Glancy

Storm Cursed by Patricia Briggs
“Mercy Thompson has opened her garage again and is trying to get back to normal. Now that the Tri-Cities is neutral ground, all kinds of supernatural beings are heading her way. If you’re a Briggs fan, you’re going to love this book and look forward to the next. For fans of the Walker Papers and Weather Warden series.” —Helen Imre, Franklin Township Public Library, Somerset, NJ

NoveList Read-alike: The Jane Yellowrock novels by Faith Hunter

For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the June LibraryReads list ends 5/1!

Check out which June titles we’re loving.

3727_wwyr-for-june_900

May 2019 LibraryReads Top Ten List Announced!

Category: Holds AlertWhat We're Reading
0
637 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *