april-19-lr

Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the April 2019 LibraryReads Top Ten List!

Click to Prepare for Your April Readers’ Advisory.

Lost Roses: A Novel by Martha Hall Kelly(Top Pick)
“The Ferriday family (The Lilac Girls) returns in this story of love, loss, and triumph. The voices of four compelling female characters tell of the devastating effects of the Russian Revolution and World War I. Highly recommended for book clubs and fans of Anthony Doerr, Susan Meissner, and Lauren Belfer.” —Mamie Ney, Auburn Public Library, Auburn, ME 

NoveList Read-alike: The Women In The Castle by Jessica Shattuck

Normal People: A Novel by Sally Rooney
“Follows the complicated relationship between Connell, a popular boy, and Marianne, a lonely and private girl, through their high school years and college. A great book club pick. For fans of Three Junes by Julia Glass and Idaho by Emily Ruskovich.” —Anbolyn Potter, Chandler Public Library, Chandler, AZ 

NoveList Read-alike: The Lesser Bohemians by Eimear Mcbride

Save Me the Plums: My Gourmet Memoir by Ruth Reichl
“Reichl’s captivating story about leaving her job as a New York Times restaurant critic to become Editor in Chief of Gourmet magazine. Her writing is as luscious as the food she critiques. For fans of Kitchen Confidential by Anthony Bourdain and My Life in France by Julia Child.” —Katelyn Boyer, Fergus Falls Public Library, Fergus Falls, MN

NoveList Read-alike: My Soul Looks Back by Jessica B. Harris

Southern Lady Code: Essays by Helen Ellis
“A funny, spot-on collection of essays on topics ranging from marriage and manners, three-ways, and how to be a good friend in the middle of a murder trial. For fans of You Play the Girl by Carina Chocano and Thick by Tressie McMillan Cottom.” —Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT 

NoveList Read-alike: Look Alive Out There by Sloane Crosley

The Invited: A Novel by Jennifer McMahon
“Nate and Helen leave their teaching jobs to build their dream home in rural Vermont. Helen begins seeing ghosts, and Nate becomes obsessed with a white doe. An unputdownable thriller about a house with a tragic past. Perfect for fans of Erin Kelly and Attica Locke.” —Terri Smith, Cornelia Library, Mt. Airy, GA

NoveList Read-alike: Mansion by Ezekiel Boone

For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the May LibraryReads list ends 4/1!

Check out which May titles we’re loving.

what-will-you-read-for-may_

April 2019 LibraryReads Top Ten List Announced!

Category: Holds AlertWhat We're Reading
0
663 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *