nov-lr-18

Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the November 2018 LibraryReads Top Ten List!

Click to Prepare for Your November Readers’ Advisory.

Night of Miracles: A Novel (HALL OF FAME)
By Elizabeth Berg
“An equally delightful follow-up to The Story of Arthur Truluv. A heartwarming tale of life in a small town with an ensemble cast of likeable characters.” —Claudia Silk, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT

Past Tense: A Jack Reacher Novel (HALL OF FAME)
By Lee Child
“Another home run from Child. While visiting his father’s birthplace in New Hampshire, Reacher can’t help but intervene when a member of a local gang attempts to assault a waitress. He soon uncovers more suspicious happenings in the town. Fast-paced, great plot, and compelling characters.” —Laura Scott, Park Ridge Public Library, Park Ridge, IL

My Sister, the Serial Killer: A Novel (TOP PICK!)
By Oyinkan Braithwaite
“Nigerian nurse Korede puts up with so much from her sister Ayoola (the serial killer). Braithwaite tells a dark, lively, and funny story of how begrudgingly cleaning up after someone else’s deadly habits is just one of those things one does for family. For fans of satirical humor.” —Lisa Hoffman, Bloomfield Public Library, Bloomfield NJ

The Adults: A Novel (#2)
By Caroline Hulse
“Divorced couple Claire and Matt devise a terrific idea for Christmas: spend it at Happy Forest Holiday Park with their new partners and their seven-year-old daughter Scarlett (and her imaginary friend). Hilarious and heartrending, this debut novel asks the age-old question: ‘What could possibly go wrong?’” —Todd Krueger, Baltimore County Public Library, Baltimore, MD

The Colors of All the Cattle: No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency (#4)
By Alexander McCall Smith
“Each new book in this series unwraps another layer of the lives of the minor characters. Along with solving the requisite mystery, Precious delves into local politics and comes to rely more on her family and friends for their input. A charming addition to this heartwarming series.” —Fran Hegarty, Peabody Institute Library of Danvers, Danvers, MA

A Ladder to the Sky: A Novel (#8)
By John Boyne
“Enter the disturbing world of high stakes publishing and meet an author so twisted and unscrupulous you will beg for justice. For readers who like an unlikeable character and sardonic tone.” —Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Community Library, Austin, TX

Someone to Trust: A Westcott Nove (#10)
By Mary Balogh
“Love defies societal expectations in this historical romance set in the Regency period. For fans of Tessa Dare and Amelia Grey.” —Kathy Setter, Indianhead Federated Library System, Eau Claire, WI

For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the January LibraryReads list ends 12/1!

Check out which January titles we’re loving.

what-will-you-read-for-january_-1

November 2018 LibraryReads List Announced!

Category: Holds AlertWhat We're Reading
0
215 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *