oct-libraryreads-18

Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the October 2018 LibraryReads Top Ten List!

Click to Prepare for Your October Readers’ Advisory.

And introducing Hall of Fame, a special new designation that honors authors who have had more than two books hit the LibraryReads list. Jodi Picoult’s A Spark of Light is the inaugural selection. Click to read a note from Jodi Picoult about the selection.

A Spark of Light: A Novel (HALL OF FAME)
By Jodi Picoult
“This harrowing and insightful novel unwinds backwards in time over the course of a day during a tense hostage situation at a Mississippi women’s clinic and is told through multiple points of view: the gunman, the hostage negotiator, patients, clinic staff, and a right to life advocate. All sides of the abortion issue are explored with compassion through the characters’ stories, helping readers empathize and connect. Fans of Picoult’s issue-driven novels will not be disappointed.” —Catherine Coyne, Mansfield Public Library, Mansfield, MA

The Proposal (#1)
By Jasmine Guillory
“A disastrous public wedding proposal results in a chance meeting between Nik and Carlos. What follows is a delightfully humorous and sweet story about two people falling for each other while remaining seemingly unaware of their blossoming romance. The book sets itself apart by portraying a self-aware, feminist woman who enjoys positive relationships with female friends. An engaging and upbeat multicultural romance.” —LaNiesha Bowles, Boston Public Library, Boston, MA

One Day in December: A Novel (#7)
By Josie Silver
“An enjoyable page-turner, with a romance that begins with a chance connection at a bus stop and brews in secret over a number of years. More literary romance than chick-lit, this title would be a good choice for readers who enjoy books by Meg Donohue or Erica Bauermeister.” —Marlyn Beebe, Long Beach Public Library, Long Beach, NY

The Witch Elm: A Novel (#10)
By Tana French
“This standalone novel has all the things readers love about the Dublin Murder Squad books–well developed characters, exquisite plotting, and deep explorations of human nature. Toby leads a charmed life with an idyllic childhood, a good family, a loving girlfriend, and promising prospects. But a vicious attack changes everything. Atmospheric, twisty, and perfect for readers who like Gillian Flynn or Kate Atkinson.” —Laura Bovee, Chicopee Public Library, Chicopee, MA

For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the November LibraryReads list ends 9/20!

Check out which November titles we’re loving.

3397_wwyr_november_900

October 2018 LibraryReads List Announced!

Category: Holds AlertWhat We're Reading
0
217 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *