may-lr

Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the May 2017 LibraryReads Top Ten List!

Click to Prepare for Your May Readers’ Advisory.

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine: A Novel (#1)
by Gail Honeyman
“I loved this book about the quirky Eleanor, who struggles to relate to other people and lives a very solitary life. When she and the new work IT guy happen to be walking down the street together, they witness an elderly man collapse on the sidewalk and suddenly Eleanor’s orderly routines are disrupted. This is a lovely novel about loneliness and how a little bit of kindness can change a person forever. Highly recommended for fans of A Man Called Ove and The Rosie Project – this would make a great book club read.” —Halle Eisenman, Beaufort County Library, Blufton, SC

Saints for All Occasions: A Novel (#6)
by J. Courtney Sullivan
“Sisters Nora and Theresa Flynn leave their home in Ireland for a new life in 1958 Boston. Each adjusts to life in America in her own way. Steady Nora watches younger Theresa, until choices made by each woman drive the sisters apart. We follow the story from 1958 to contemporary New England, Ireland, and New York, exploring how siblings and children relate to their parents and each other as they age. Novels about Irish immigrant families and their American descendants are a weakness of mine and the way this story unfolds from everyone’s perspectives is very satisfying!” —Trisha Rigsby, Deerfield Public Library, Deerfield, WI

Check Out More Penguin Random House LibraryReads Picks on Pinterest.

Click to Listen to LibraryReads Picks.

For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the June LibraryReads list ends 4/20!

2512_wwyr_900x318_fb_0227

May 2017 LibraryReads List Announced!

Category: Holds AlertWhat We're Reading
0
156 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *