march-libraryreads

Public library staff across the nation have spoken! Congratulations to all the books selected for the March 2017 LibraryReads Top Ten List!

Click to Prepare for Your March Readers’ Advisory.

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley: A Novel (#1)
By Hannah Tinti
“Meet Samuel Hawley, a man in a constant struggle with his violent past, doing the best he can to raise his daughter.  Meet Loo, his daughter, a girl with an obscure past and an uncertain future, on the cusp of adulthood.  And meet Lily, the dead woman who connects them both. In this finely woven novel, the past and the present gradually illuminate the story of a man’s life through the bullet wounds he carries with him and makes readers consider what it is to be both good and evil.” —Dawn Terrizzi, Denton Public Library, Denton, TX

The Wanderers: A Novel  (#3)
By Meg Howrey
“A private space exploration company is mounting a manned mission to Mars. To prepare for the actual event, the company plans an elaborate training program to match the conditions and potential problems the team might face. The ordeal, though simulated, is no less dramatic for the astronauts, their families, and the crew. The lines cross between fiction and reality and none of the participants is left unchanged. Part literary fiction, part sci-fi, all amazing.” —Marie Byars, Sno-Isle Libraries, Oak Harbor, WA

Eggshells (#6)
By Caitriona Lally
“Whimsical and different, this novel’s humor hooked me.  Vivian is an eccentric, living in Dublin and searching for a place where she can feel she belongs. How can you help but love a character who checks every wardrobe for Narnia and every yellow road for an Emerald City?  This novel movingly explores the outcasts and the different among us, showing that they are only hoping to fit in and find a friend.” —Linda Quinn, Fairfield Public Library, Fairfield, CT

Say Nothing: A Novel  (#7)
By Brad Park
“Fans of crime fiction and fans of domestic drama will find much to love in Parks’ genre-blending thriller. Judge Scott Sampson is a devoted family man and a respected jurist thrown into every parent’s worst nightmare: his 6-year-old twins are kidnapped, and the kidnappers blackmail Scott into increasingly immoral legal decisions. Cue marital meltdown, ethical dilemmas, paranoia, and a thrill ride that suspense lovers will race through to learn what happens next. It’s a departure from the author’s lightly snarky Carter Ross series, but a welcome one for readers of Harlan Coben and Gregg Hurwitz.” —Donna Matturri, Pickertington Public Library, Pickerington, OH

The Stranger in the Woods: The Extraordinary Story of the Last True Hermit (#8)
By Michael Finkel
“There are three types of hermits in the world, according to Finkel: protesters, pilgrims, and pursuers. But Christopher Knight doesn’t seem to fit any of these categories. So why, at the age of 20, did he drive into a forest in Maine and disappear for 27 years, his only human interaction a single ‘hi’ with a passing hiker? This book uses the incredible but true story of Knight, ‘the last true hermit,’ to explore themes of solitude, introversion and the meaning of life.” —Megan Tristao, San Jose Public Library, San Jose, CA

If Not For You: A Novel (#10)
By Debbie Macomber
“High school music teacher, Beth, and tattooed auto mechanic, Sam, are set up by mutual friends, but neither sees a relationship developing. Their mutual disinterest quickly turns into friendship and then develops into much more. Just as their romantic relationship truly begins, Beth’s controlling mother and Sam’s hidden past get in the way and threaten to break them apart. As fans have grown to expect from Macomber, this tale tugs the heartstrings in every direction but is ultimately uplifting. It’s impossible not to fall in love with her characters.” —Jenna Friebel, Oak Park Public Library, Oak Park, IL

Check Out More Penguin Random House LibraryReads Picks on Pinterest.

Click to Listen to LibraryReads Picks.

For more information about the program, or to learn how to vote for your favorite upcoming books, visit LibraryReads.org. And, don’t forget, voting for the April LibraryReads list ends 2/20!

March 2017 LibraryReads List Announced

Category: Holds AlertWhat We're Reading
0
140 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *