8 Authors Under 35 to Watch

Check out the authors under 35 who everyone will be talking about!

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden
A magical debut novel for readers of Uprooted and  The Night CircusThe Bear and the Nightingale spins an irresistible spell as it announces the arrival of a singular talent. Sign up today to join debut author Katherine Arden for a free hour-long EarlyReads web chat on Wednesday, 8/24!

The Mothers by Brit Bennett
A dazzling debut novel from an exciting new voice, The Mothers is a surprising story about young love, a big secret in a small community—and the things that ultimately haunt us most.

The Mortifications by Derek Palacio
Spanning the globe and several decades, Derek Palacio’s stunning, mythic novel marks the arrival of a fresh voice in the tradition of the American epic and opens a new chapter in the history of twenty-first-century Cuban-American literature.

Idaho by Emily Ruskovich
O.Henry Prize-winner Emily Ruskovich tells the story of a woman piecing together the mystery of what happened to a family. Idaho is a debut novel about love, forgiveness, and memory—the violence of memory, and the equal violence of its loss.

You Can’t Touch My Hair by Phoebe Robinson
You Can’t Touch My Hair: And Other Things I Still Have to Explain is a keenly observed, humorous essay collection from celebrated stand-up comedian and WNYC podcaster Phoebe Robinson, in which she discusses what it’s like to be the black friend, how to cope with those who have white guilt, and, of course, why you can’t touch her hair.

Trainwreck by Sady Doyle
From Mary Wollstonecraft to Charlotte Brontë, Billie Holiday, Sylvia Plath, and even Hillary Clinton, Sady Doyle’s Trainwreck dissects a centuries-old phenomenon and asks what it means now, in a time when we have unprecedented access to celebrities and civilians alike, and when women are pushing harder than ever against the boundaries of what it means to “behave.”

Born A Crime by Trevor Noah
One of the comedy world’s fastest-rising stars tells his wild coming of age story during the twilight of apartheid in South Africa and the tumultuous days of freedom that followed. Noah provides something deeper than traditional memoirists: powerfully funny observations about how farcical political and social systems play out in our lives.

Ninth City Burning by J. Patrick Black
An epic science fiction debut for fans of Starship Troopers, Ender’s Game, and Red Rising.

Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi
The unforgettable New York Times best seller begins with the story of two half-sisters, separated by forces beyond their control: one sold into slavery, the other married to a British slaver. Written with tremendous sweep and power, Homegoing traces the generations of family who follow, as their destinies lead them through two continents and three hundred years of history, each life indeliably drawn, as the legacy of slavery is fully revealed in light of the present day.

Sweetbitter by Stephanie Danler
A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan. Perfect for readers of Kitchen Confidential and Blood, Bones and Butter.

The Girls by Emma Cline
Girls, their vulnerability, strength, and desire to belong, are at the heart of this un-put-downable first novel set during the violent end of the 1960s in Northern California.

Click for More Books by Authors Under 35.

11 Authors Under 35 to Watch

Category: Holds AlertWhat We're Reading
0
685 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *