9781101904220_ee938

As we head to ALA Annual this week, we wanted to give you a sneak peek at some of the books we’re most excited about. First up is Dark Matter, the book that we all chose as a Staff Pick at ALA Annual 2016 and that was recently names a #1 LibraryReads pick for July! Check out what we’re saying:

“A thriller for any type of reader because at its heart, this is the story of a man doing everything he can to return to his family. For readers of Michael Crichton and Justin Cronin, there’s just enough science here to make you wonder you would do in similar circumstances.  A rollercoaster of emotions will see you through to the very last page!”―Erica

“This unputdownable thriller has just enough science to make you feel smart, but not enough to make you feel stupid.  And what I loved most was that it is—at its heart—a love story: about a man trying to find his way back to his family.”―Jen

“I say all the time that if I could just clone myself I’d be able to get so much more accomplished. Well, after reading— I’m sorry— tearing through, Dark Matter, I have completely changed my mind— one of me is just plenty. This thriller weighs the benefits of science and physics against the matters of philosophy and love all the while taking you through a thrill ride with scientist and family man, Jason Dessen, a character I dare you not to fall in love with.”―Kelly

“I’m not usually a sci-fi reader, but I was captivated from page one. I loved the fast-paced action and the twists and turns, but most of all I loved the story of a man trying to get back to his family. This is the book to give the non-readers in your life!”―Chelsea

“The best quantum physics thriller you’ll read this year, and undoubtedly a future blockbuster on the silver screen. Dark Matter is the nail-biting journey of Jason Dessen—an ordinary dad and college physics professor who wakes up in a strange new world after being abducted at gun point.”―Hugo

“This is the best science-fiction book I’ve read since The Martian by Andy Weir. It’s The Time Machine meets Groundhog Day. I literally could not put this book down! And I think what makes this book so great is that it’s so accessible for anyone who is not a sci-fi fan because at its heart it’s a love story and everyone can relate to that.”―Robert

“An absolute page-turner I could not put down! A story that transcends age & gender that will appeal to a wide range of audience, this book is a genre-bending crossover offering readers elements of a thriller/suspense novel, drama, tech & sci-fi, all rolled up into a romantic tale of how far one man will go to be reunited with the woman he loves.”―Brad

Request an eGalley on Edelweiss.

Request an eGalley on NetGalley.

Staff Pick: Dark Matter

Category: Holds AlertStaff PicksWhat We're Reading
0
820 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *