March'15_Random_Reads_email

Looking ahead to March, here are some of our top picks. Click through to request eGalleys and, if you love the reads, please consider nominating them for LibraryReads. March nominations are due by January 20th.

GIRL IN THE DARK: A MEMOIR
Anna was living a normal life. She was ambitious and worked hard; she had just bought an apartment; she was falling in love. But then she started to develop worrying symptoms: her face felt like it was burning whenever she was in front of the computer. Soon this progressed to an intolerance of fluorescent light, then of sunlight itself. This soon spread to her entire body. With gorgeous, lyrical prose, Anna brings us into the dark with her, a place from which we emerge to see love, and the world, anew.

LIFE FROM SCRATCH: A MEMOIR OF FOOD, FAMILY, AND FORGIVENESS
It was a culinary journey like no other: Over the course of 195 weeks, food writer and blogger Sasha Martin set out to cook—and eat—a meal from every country in the world. Martin’s heartfelt, brutally honest memoir reveals the power of cooking to bond, to empower, and to heal.

“Poignant, heartwarming and generously filled with delicious recipes.” —Kirkus Reviews

AT THE WATER’S EDGE: A NOVEL
In this new novel from the author of Water for Elephants, Sara Gruen again demonstrates her talent for creating spellbinding period pieces. At the Water’s Edge is a gripping and poignant love story about a privileged young woman’s personal awakening as she experiences the devastations of World War II in a Scottish Highlands village.

HAUSFRAU: A NOVEL
Anna Benz, an American in her late thirties, lives with her Swiss husband, Bruno—a banker—and their three young children in a postcard-perfect suburb of Zürich. Though she leads a comfortable, well-appointed life, Anna is falling apart inside. Intimate, intense, and written with the precision of a Swiss Army knife, Jill Alexander Essbaum’s debut novel is an unforgettable story of marriage, fidelity, sex, morality, and most especially self. For readers of Claire Messud and Mary Gaitskill.

DEAD WAKE: THE LAST CROSSING OF THE LUSITANIA
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author and master of narrative nonfiction comes the enthralling story of the sinking of the Lusitania, published to coincide with the 100th anniversary of the disaster. It is a story that many of us think we know but don’t.

“Factual and personal to a high degree, the narrative reads like a grade-A thriller.” —Booklist, (starred review)

March Random Reads

Category: Staff Picks
0
1131 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *