septemberreads

The September LibraryReads List was announced this morning, and we are very pleased to have four titles in the Top Ten. Remember, eGalleys are still available: Click to prepare for your September Readers’ Advisory.


Station Eleven: A Novel

By Emily St. John Mandel
“An actor playing King Lear dies onstage just before a cataclysmic event changes the future of everyone on Earth. What will be valued and what will be discarded? Will art have a place in a world that has lost so much? What will make life worth living? These are just some of the issues explored in this beautifully written dystopian novel. Recommended for fans of David Mitchell, John Scalzi and Kate Atkinson.” —Janet Lockhart, Wake County Public Libraries, Cary, NC


The Children Act

By Ian McEwan
“Judge Fiona Maye is at a difficult point in her marriage. Taking refuge in addressing other people’s problems in family court, Fiona extends herself more than usual, meeting a boy whose future is in her hands. McEwan is a masterful observer of human distress. With a simple story and flawed, genuine characters, this novel is poignant and insightful.” —Jennifer Alexander, St. Louis County Library, St. Louis, MO


The Distance: A Thriller

By Helen Giltrow
“Imagine a modern-day Robin Hood who deals not in money, but identity. Karla, the protagonist of The Distance, is a tech guru with a conscience, and the security of several nations dependent on her. This nuanced book kept me on the edge of my seat. I cannot wait until the next one comes out.” —Cathy Scheib, Indianapolis Public Library, Indianapolis, IN


Horrorstör: A Novel

By Grady Hendrix
“You know how some horror movies would work better as novels? Horrorstör is that book, perfectly capturing everything that is terrific about the horror genre. In its catalog-style pages, you’ll find a hefty dose of satire, as a Scandinavian furniture store is transformed overnight into a prison. With characters that you’re rooting for and terror that creeps up on you, Horrorstör will keep you up all night in the best possible way.” —Donna Matturri, Pickerington Public Library, Pickerington, OH


Click to View the Full September LibraryReads Top 10 List.

September LibraryReads Top 10 List Announced!

Category: AnnouncementsBook PromoReviewsStaff Picks
1
1230 views

1 comment

  • I just finished reading Station Eleven, and it was brilliant. It’s one of the most striking books I’ve read this year and perfect for people who are tired of reading about bleak dystopias.

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *