August_Random_Reads_FB

August brings a new selection of our staff favorites. We hope you’ll add them to your TBR pile.

And remember, LibraryReads voting for August titles ends on July 1st, so it’s time to get reading!

2 A.M. at The Cat's Pajamas-bertino2 A.M. at The Cat’s Pajamas
By Marie-Helene Bertino

2 A.M. at The Cat’s Pajamas won me over heart and soul. With Madeleine Altimari, a nine year old aspiring jazz singer with a wonderful talent for cursing, Bertino has created one of the most winning and wonderful characters I’ve met in a long time. Read this book to see a debut author doing something really special, crafting a story where human kindness meets up with an inhospitable world and real magic happens in the aftermath.”
–Kevin Wilson, author of The Family Fang

Click to Request an eGalley.

Marie-Helene recently joined us at the Booklist Dazzling Debuts Webinar. Click to Watch the Archived Webinar.

IN THE KINGDOM OF ICEIn the Kingdom of Ice: The Grand and Terrible Polar Voyage of the USS Jeannette
By Hampton Sides

New York Times bestselling author Hampton Sides returns with a white-knuckle tale of polar exploration and survival in the Gilded Age.

“Another crackling tale of adventure from journalist/explorer Sides…this one focusing on a frigid disaster nearly 150 years ago… A grand and grim narrative of thrilling exploration for fans of Into Thin Air, Mountains of the Moon and the like.”–Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Click to Request an eGalley.

LISETTE'S LISTLisette’s List: A Novel
By Susan Vreeland

The New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Hyacinth Blue and Clara and Mr. Tiffany returns with a richly imagined story of a woman’s awakening in the south of Vichy France.

In 1937, young Lisette Roux moves from Paris to Provence to take care of her husband’s ailing grandfather. Though she regrets having to give up her dream of becoming a gallery apprentice and longs for the sophistication of the city, Lisette soon discovers that despite the horrors of war, the paintings of Cézanne, Pissarro, Chagall, and Picasso breathe new life into her, and allow her once again to experience love.

Click to Request an eGalley.

Click to Read Susan Vreeland’s tribute to librarians.

IN A ROCKET MADE OF ICEIn a Rocket Made of Ice: Among the Children of Wat Opot
By Gail Gutradt

A beautifully told, inspiring true story of one woman’s volunteer experiences at an orphanage in rural Cambodia–a book that embodies the belief that love, compassion, and generosity of spirit can overcome even the most fearsome of obstacles.

Visit the Wat Opot Community website.

Click to Request an eGalley.

COLORLESS TSUKURU TAZAKIColorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage: A Novel
By Haruki Murakami

The new novel—a book that sold more than a million copies the first week it went on sale in Japan—from the internationally acclaimed author, his first since IQ84.

“Murakami has established himself as the unofficial laureate of Japan–arguably its chief imaginative ambassador, in any medium, to the world.”–The New York Times Magazine

Click to Request an eGalley.

Not sure how to participate in LibraryReads? Learn more by visiting their website LibraryReads.org or check out our FAQ sheet.

Library Reads Logo-ColorWhat is LibraryReads?

Not sure how to participate in LibraryReads? Learn more by visiting their website LibraryReads.org or check out our FAQ sheet.

August Staff Favorites! So Many Great Books!

Category: Book PromoStaff Picks
0
1197 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *