new life, no instructionsThis week’s #FridayReads is an exquisitely written new memoir from Pulitzer Prize winner Gail Caldwell—author of the beloved Let’s Take the Long Way Home.

NEW LIFE, NO INSTRUCTIONS chronicles a dramatic turning point in Caldwell’s life, which unexpectedly opened up a world of understanding, possibility, and connection. Perfect for readers of Anne Lamott, Kelly Corrigan, and Mary Karr, this is a moving memoir about the surprising way life can begin again, at any age.

Advance Praise:
Beautifully written, lucid, and wise. We come of age again and again during the course of our lives, and need those who have traveled the path before us to shine a light, to lend a hand. Caldwell’s story is moving and gripping.”
Dani Shapiro, author of Devotion and Slow Motion

“A meditation on how seemingly faint winds can blow us wildly off course; on how spending time with a beloved animal can benefit our basic humanity; and on what it means to overcome, at middle age, a multitude of blows. It is lyrical and smart and triumphant and you won’t read a more honest memoir in your life.”
Darin Strauss, author of Chang and Eng and Half a Life

Click to Read an Excerpt.

Click to Request an eGalley.

#FridayReads: New Life, No Instructions

Category: Book PromoReviewsStaff Picks
0
622 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *