portraitsWe’re excited that tomorrow Midwinter begins! Oh the fun, oh the joy! We wanted to give you a heads up on the personally selected Staff Pick books we’re bringing to Midwinter. If you’re at the conference we invite you to swing by and chat with us more about our selections. We’re in Booth #1728. Here we go…

JEN’S PICKS:

age of miraclesThe Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker

“Young love and angst amidst a natural disaster which has all sorts of consequences, big and small.  An engrossing coming of age story that I can’t stop thinking about.” 

The Dressmaker by Kate Alcott

“Fascinating historical fiction, well-timed for the demand spurred on by the Titanic anniversary.”

Wife 22 by Melanie Gideon

“A narrator that you will either love or hate.  Perfect for book discussion groups.” 

ERICA’S PICKS:

gone girlGone Girl by Gillian Flynn

“There are too many missing wives in this country lately and under Flynn’s expert narrative you’ll never watch Dateline the same way again.”

The Innocent: A Vanessa Michael Munroe Novel   by Taylor Stevens

“Don’t suffer from Lisbeth Salander withdrawal alone! An amazing thriller I couldn’t stand to put down!”

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain

“I have found my people.  Finally, acceptance and understanding!”

The Expats by Chris Pavone

“A domestic thriller where the secrets one spouse keeps from the other have you questioning how well you REALLY know your own partner!”

KELLY’S PICKS:

the fallback planThe Fallback Plan by Leigh Stein

“There went my childhood, the persistent memory of it, like the pulse of regret. Not regret having lived it, but the regret of leaving it behind…” There is a moment in each of our lives when we come to accept ‘adulthood’ it is never easy, it is never welcomed, but it has to happen at some point.

Lamberto, Lamberto, Lamberto  by Gianni Rodari

On behalf of Paul Oliver, Melville House

“This previously untranslated classic of Italian children’s literature instantly calls to mind the beloved quirkiness of Roald Dahl’s The BFG and Antoine de Saint-Exupery’s The Little Prince. In this sense Lamberto welcomes readers from all ages and makes for one hilariously wizened read.”

Marzi by Marzena Sowa

“In a similar vein as Persopolis, Marzi is a coming of age narrative that depicts childhood life behind the Iron Curtain in communist Poland, Marzena Sowa’s personal and sometimes political memories along with Sylvain Savoia’s beautiful depictions of her life will stay with you forever.  You will be glad to have met Marzi.”

KRISTA’S PICKS:

978-1-59474-550-8Taft 2012: A Novel  by Jason Heller

“This election year vote William H. Taft by picking a novel that’s filled with delightful political satire in the vein of Kurt Vonnegut, Jon Stewart and David Sedaris. It sets the stage for the question if the “Big Chief” were alive today what would happen if he once again became president.”

Kurt Vonnegut: The Last Interview: And Other Conversations by Kurt Vonnegut

 “Always being a Vonnegut fan I found this last interview as a wonderful window into a great mind.”

ALA Midwinter Staff Picks!

Category: Staff Picks
0
1087 views

Join the discussion

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *